Who is the current deputy leader of the Labour party?

Who is the current deputy leader of the Labour party?

Deputy Leader of the Labour Party (UK)

Deputy Leader of the Labour Party
Incumbent Angela Rayner since 4 April 2020
Reports to Leader of Labour
Appointer Labour Party
Inaugural holder John Robert Clynes

Who stood against Keir Starmer?


Candidate Party members Total
Votes %
Keir Starmer 225,135 56.2%
Rebecca Long-Bailey 117,598 27.6%
Lisa Nandy 58,788 16.2%

What is a leadership election?

A leadership election is a political contest held in various countries by which the members of a political party determine who will be the leader of their party. Generally, any political party can determine its own rules governing how and when a leadership election is to be held for that party.

When was Keir Starmer elected Labour leader?

After Labour’s defeat in the 2019 general election, Starmer was elected to succeed Jeremy Corbyn as Labour leader in April 2020.

Who is current UK Deputy Prime Minister?

The office has been held by Dominic Raab since 15 September 2021. Raab is also Lord Chancellor and Justice Secretary and previously served as First Secretary for over two years.

Who is the shadow deputy prime minister?

The current office-holder is Deputy Labour Leader Angela Rayner, who succeeded Emily Thornberry in April 2020.

Who stood for Labour leader in 2015?

Jeremy Corbyn, the Member of Parliament for Islington North, stood as a candidate in the 2015 British Labour Party leadership election, in a successful campaign that made him the leader of the Labour Party. His campaign was announced in an article for the Islington Tribune on 3 June 2015.

Who led the Labour party in 2010?

On 25 September 2010, Ed Miliband became the new Leader of the Labour Party.

Who elects a party leader?

In a pure “one member one vote” system, each party member casts a ballot to elect the leader, and all ballots have equal weight.

Who is the deputy prime minister 2021?

Dominic Raab was appointed Deputy Prime Minister, Lord Chancellor, and Secretary of State for Justice on 15 September 2021.

Who is Boris Johnsons deputy?

The office has been held by Dominic Raab since 15 September 2021.

Where is Angela Raynor from?

Angela Rayner

The Right Honourable Angela Rayner MP
Born Angela Bowen 28 March 1980 Stockport, Greater Manchester, England
Political party Labour
Spouse(s) Mark Rayner ​ ​ ( m. 2010; sep. 2020)​
Children 3

Does shadow cabinet get paid?

Although the salary and benefits paid from the public treasury to shadow ministers remain the same as for a backbencher—they have no executive responsibilities, unlike cabinet ministers—some opposition parties provide an additional stipend in addition to the salary they receive as legislators while many at least …

Who was Labour Leader in 2016?

2016 Labour Party leadership election (UK)

Candidate Jeremy Corbyn Owen Smith
Popular vote 313,209 193,229
Percentage 61.8% 38.2%

Who stood for Labour Leader in 2010?

When did Labour lose power in UK?

Labour went on to unexpectedly lose the 1970 general election to the Conservatives under Edward Heath.

Who stood for Labour Leader in 2015?

Who will be the next Labour Party deputy leader?

The results were announced on 4 April 2020, with Rayner announced as the winner and becoming deputy leader. Tom Watson resigned as deputy leader of the Labour Party and as an MP in November 2019 ahead of the 2019 United Kingdom general election.

Who won the Labour Party leadership election 2020?

It was won by Angela Rayner on the third ballot. It was held alongside the 2020 Labour Party leadership election .

Who came second in the general election 2019?

Rosena Allin-Khan came second, which was different from the results predicted by opinion polls. ^ Tom Watson stepped down as Deputy Leader on 12 December 2019. ^ Stewart, Heather (6 November 2019).

Who does unison back for deputy leader of Labour Party?

^ “UNISON backs Angela Rayner for deputy leader of the Labour Party”. Unison National. 8 January 2020. Retrieved 8 January 2020. ^ “NEC back Lisa Nandy for Leader”.