Who is the all time leading scorer for the WNBA?

Who is the all time leading scorer for the WNBA?

Diana Taurasi
WNBA Career Leaders and Records for Points

Rank Player PTS
1. Diana Taurasi 9367
2. Tina Thompson* 7488
3. Tamika Catchings* 7380
4. Candice Dupree 6895

What were the original 8 WNBA teams?

The WNBA began with eight teams: the Charlotte Sting, Cleveland Rockers, Houston Comets, and New York Liberty in the Eastern Conference; and the Los Angeles Sparks, Phoenix Mercury, Sacramento Monarchs, and Utah Starzz in the Western Conference.

Which WNBA team has the most finals appearances?

The New York Liberty
The New York Liberty have the most Finals appearances (4) without winning a championship. The Minnesota Lynx are the sixth team to win multiple championships (following Houston, Los Angeles, Detroit, Phoenix and Seattle, respectively).

What is the lowest scoring WNBA game?

The lowest scoring WNBA game saw the Washington Mystics play against the Cleveland Rockers on May 31, 2001. The Washington Mystics lost to the Rockers 69 to 34 and became the lowest-scoring team in WNBA history, a title they still hold. Below are the four lowest-scoring teams in a single game in WNBA history.

Who is the WNBA goat?

guard Diana Taurasi
The WNBA announced Sunday that Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi has been voted by fans as the league’s greatest of all time (GOAT). The “Vote for the GOAT” platform was part of the WNBA’s celebration of its landmark 25th season.

Who was the first woman to dunk?

Georgeann Wells
21, 1984 game against the University of Charleston at the Randolph County Armory in Elkins could (or was willing to do) at the time – that WVU’s Georgeann Wells was the first women’s basketball player to dunk in a game. And he finally did it 25 years after the fact!

Which WNBA teams no longer exist?

Defunct Franchises

Team From To
Houston Comets 1997 2008
Miami Sol 2000 2002
Portland Fire 2000 2002
Sacramento Monarchs 1997 2009

Who was the first female to dunk in the WNBA?

Leslie, who played for the Los Angeles Sparks for the duration of her WNBA career, recorded the first dunk in the league’s history on July 30, 2002. In the same season she became the first WNBA player to reach 3,000 career points.

Who was the last WNBA team to Win back to back championships?

The Breakthrough: After falling to Houston in back-to-back playoffs, the Los Angeles Sparks finally ended the Comets’ reign and went on to win back-to-back titles of their own behind MVP Lisa Leslie and Co.

How many dunks were made in WNBA history?

27 dunks
How many dunks have there been in the WNBA? There have been 27 dunks in the WNBA. With the majority (20) of the dunks happening during regular matches, and seven of the dunks occurring during All-Star Games. Here’s a quick look at each dunk.

Who has the most threes in the WNBA?

WNBA Career Leaders and Records for 3-Pt Field Goals

Rank Player 3P
1. Diana Taurasi 1268
2. Sue Bird 983
3. Katie Smith* 906
4. Becky Hammon 829

Can Rebecca Lobo dunk?

Since this happened, however, Lobo has gone out of her way to dunk on me on Twitter (she could also literally dunk on me, I know. She can dunk on you too.). Take a look at her work. I must say, it’s impressive.

How tall is WNBA Hoop?

10 feet
WNBA rims are placed 10 feet above the court, the same as in the NBA, and Delle Donne contends that at closer range to the basket, female players can display more of their athleticism and attract more fans.

Who is the girl in the WNBA logo?

It keeps saying that the logo is a celebration of all the athletes who have ever belonged to the WNBA. Yet, there is a popular opinion that the silhouette is modeled after Sue Bird.

Is there a Houston WNBA team?

The Houston Comets were a Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) team based in Houston, Texas, United States. Formed in 1997, the team was one of the original eight WNBA teams and won the first four championships of the league’s existence….

Houston Comets
Conference titles 4 (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000)

Who lost the first WNBA Championship?

Championship. The Sky battled back from a second-half deficit to beat the Mercury in a thriller. They were unlikely champions after a .

What teams have won the last 3 WNBA championships?

All-Time WNBA Champions

Year Champion Runner Up
2018 Seattle Storm Washington Mystics
2017 Minnesota Lynx Los Angeles Sparks
2016 Los Angeles Sparks Minnesota Lynx
2015 Minnesota Lynx Indiana Fever

What is the WNBA championship?

The series was named the WNBA Championship until 2002. Starting 2016 Verizon is the official sponsor. The series is played between the winners of the playoff semifinals. At the conclusion of the championship round, the winner of the WNBA Finals is presented the championship trophy.

Who are the All Time Greats in the NBA?

All-Time Greats: E. Hayes , J. Stockton , H. Olajuwon , W. Chamberlain , D. Schayes , J. Havlicek Active Greats: L. James , G. Antetokounmpo , C. Paul , J. Harden , S. Curry , K. Durant

Who was the NBA Finals MVP in 2007?

Nolan, a native of nearby Flint, Michigan, was Finals MVP as the Shock prevented Sacramento’s attempt at a repeat. In the decisive Game 5, won 80-75 by Detroit, Nolan played all 40 minutes and scored 24 points. — Voepel