Does Tucson do emissions testing?
Vehicles may be tested at any Phoenix or Tucson emissions station. However, it is important to note that not all tests are the same and differ for Phoenix and Tucson residents. A vehicle emissions test is a requirement for the Phoenix and Tucson areas in order to apply for a vehicle registration.
What do I need to bring to my emissions test Arizona?
If you are new to Arizona, we will need to see the current title or registration of the vehicle and your residence address. Of course, you will also need the test fee in cash, check or credit/debit card.
How much is an emissions test in Tucson Arizona?
Tests in Tucson are $12.25. Most other cars older than 1981 models in metro Phoenix are $19, except heavy-duty diesels, which are $28. Most vehicles less than five years old are exempt from testing, as are most of those registered outside the test areas around Tucson and Phoenix.
How do I schedule an emissions test in Arizona?
If you are temporarily out of state and require a vehicle emissions test, visit the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality website or call Phoenix at 602.771. 3950 or Tucson at 520.628. 5651.
What counties in Arizona do not require emissions testing?
In Arizona, cars registered only in Pima and Maricopa counties are now required to go through emissions testing. Rep. Pete Rios, D-Hayden, said Pinal doesn’t need emissions testing because its vehicles aren’t harming the state’s air quality.
How much does emissions testing cost in AZ?
Important Information: The cost for most vehicles is $17 and is paid to the testing facility. If you have a “Check Engine” light on, you will fail the test. In some cases if you have had a “Check Engine” on and just reset the light before the test without the proper repairs, you may fail the test.
What year vehicle is exempt from emissions in AZ?
SEMA-supported legislation (H.B. 2357) that was signed into law in 2005 to exempt qualified collectible vehicles 15 years old and older from the state’s mandatory emissions inspection and maintenance program will go into effect on June 1.
How do I get a Arizona emissions waiver?
- The vehicle must fail the state emissions test at least two times in the current test cycle.
- The malfunction must be diagnosed and a low emissions tune-up performed following the initial failure (low emissions tune-up is defined under “A” on the back of the vehicle inspection report).
What vehicles are exempt from emissions in AZ?
A vehicle may qualify for an Arizona Vehicle Emissions Testing exemption if:
- The model year is within the past 5 model years.
- A vehicle is registered outside of an Arizona vehicle control area.
- Vehicles with model years older than 1966.
- Electric Vehicles.
- Golf carts and small electrically operated carts.
Does Pima County require emissions?
Vehicles newer than 1966, but older than 2012, must be tested and must pass the emissions test in order to be registered in the State of Arizona. Pima County inspections, except for On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) tests, are not valid for registration in Maricopa County.
Does my vehicle need emissions test AZ?
Cars with a model year of 1967 or newer and are at least five years old must be tested. A test is required every one to two years, depending upon the age and weight of the vehicle. Most vehicles do require a test every year, however, there are a few exemptions: Out of area exemptions.
How do I get an emissions waiver in AZ?
What counties in Arizona do not require emissions?
What years are exempt from emissions in Arizona?
What year cars need emissions in AZ?
Can I pass emissions with check engine light?
A vehicle will not pass an emissions test when the check engine light is on.
What vehicles are exempt from emissions in Arizona?
How often do you have to pass an emissions test in Tucson?
Tucson Vehicle Owners. If a vehicle owner lives, studies or works in Tucson, the state of Arizona requires they pass an emissions test every other year for 1996 and newer model year gasoline vehicles weighing less than 8500 lbs.
Do you have to have an emissions inspection in Arizona?
Emissions inspections in Arizona are typically not required for vehicles that were manufactured in the last 5 years, though this does not include specially constructed or reconstructed cars. Furthermore, AZ emissions testing center visits are not compulsory for cars that are not registered in the emissions control area.
How many times can you get an emissions waiver in Arizona?
Safety and emissions waivers are only available to vehicles in Arizona once. After a car is given a waiver, it may never receive a second. Cars with vehicle emissions testing waivers must pass inspection during the next registration cycle, as waivers only last for a single cycle period.