What are the regions of Italy called?

What are the regions of Italy called?

There are 15 ordinary regions and an additional 5 to which special autonomy has been granted. The regions with ordinary powers are Piedmont, Lombardy, Veneto, Liguria, Emilia-Romagna, Tuscany, Umbria, Marche, Lazio, Abruzzo, Molise, Campania, Puglia, Basilicata, and Calabria.

Which region is Milan in?

region of Lombardy
Milan is the capital city of the region of Lombardy in northern Italy. It is the second largest city by population in Italy, behind Rome. It is Italy’s leading financial centre and its most prosperous manufacturing and commercial city.

How many regions does Italy have?

20 administrative
Italy is divided into 20 administrative regions, which correspond generally with historical traditional regions, though not always with exactly the same boundaries. A better-known and more general way of dividing Italy is into four parts: the north, the centre, the south, and the islands.

What are the 2 regions in Italy?


Macroregion Italian name Regions Area (km2)
North-East Nord-Est Emilia-Romagna Friuli Venezia Giulia Trentino-South Tyrol Veneto 62,003 km2 (23,939 sq mi)
Centre Centro Lazio Marche Tuscany Umbria 58,085 km2 (22,427 sq mi)
South Sud Abruzzo Apulia Basilicata Calabria Campania Molise 73,800 km2 (28,500 sq mi)

What is the difference between a region and a province in Italy?

The provinces of Italy (Italian: province d’Italia) are the second-level administrative divisions of the Italian Republic, on an intermediate level between a municipality (comune) and a region (regione). Since 2015, provinces have been classified as “institutional bodies of second level”.

What province is Genoa in?

Metropolitan City of GenoaGenoa / Province

Which region is Torino?

Turin, Italian Torino, Latin Augusta Taurinorum, city, capital of Torino provincia and of Piemonte (Piedmont) regione, northwestern Italy. It is located on the Po River near its junction with the Sangone, Dora Riparia, and Stura di Lanzo rivers.

Is region and province the same?

province Add to list Share. A province is a region within a country. If you travel to Canada, you’ll have to decide whether you want to go to the province of Quebec, or Saskatchewan, or one of the other 8 provinces in that enormous country. Many countries are divided into provinces.

Are Genoa and Genova the same place?

Genoa, Italian Genova, ancient (Latin) Genua, city and Mediterranean seaport in northwestern Italy. It is the capital of Genova provincia and of Liguria regione and is the centre of the Italian Riviera. Its total area is 93 square miles (240 square km). Port of Genoa, Italy.

Which region is Genoa in?

Genova is the capital of the Liguria region. It is the most important harbour in Italy and one of the main harbours in the Mediterranean Sea.

Where do most expats live in Abruzzo?

Mingling With Expats In the last decade, more foreigners have been settling down in Abruzzo. The towns of Casoli, Palombaro, Lanciano, Sulmona, and Penne have active English-speaking communities that are always ready to help newcomers and regularly organize get-togethers.

Where is Abruzzo Ulteriore now?

Abruzzo Citeriore is now the province of Chieti. The province of Teramo and province of Pescara now comprise what was Abruzzo Ulteriore I. Abruzzo Ulteriore II is now the province of L’Aquila . During the Second World War, Abruzzo was on the Gustav Line, part of the German’s Winter Line.

Where is the Abruzzo region in Italy?

Region of Italy in Italy. Abruzzo (Italian: [aˈbruttso]; Aquiliano: Abbrùzzu) is a region of Southern Italy with an area of 10,763 square km (4,156 sq mi) and a population of 1.2 million. The region is divided into the four provinces: L’Aquila, Teramo, Pescara, and Chieti. Its western border lies 80 km (50 mi) east of Rome.

What is the population density of Abruzzo?

Although the population density of Abruzzo has increased over recent decades, it is still well below the Italian national average: in 2008, 123.4 inhabitants per km 2, compared to 198.8. In the provinces, the density varies: as of 2008

What are the natural parks of Abruzzo?

The natural parks of the region are the Abruzzo National Park, the Gran Sasso and Monti della Laga National Park, the Maiella National Park and the Sirente-Velino Regional Park, as well as many other natural reserves and protected areas. Until a few decades ago, Abruzzo was a backward region of Southern Italy.