What are vertebras?

What are vertebras?

The vertebrae (back bones) of the spine include the cervical spine (C1-C7), thoracic spine (T1-T12), lumbar spine (L1-L5), sacral spine (S1-S5), and the tailbone. Each vertebra is separated by a disc. The vertebrae surround and protect the spinal cord.

What are the 4 areas of the spine?

The spine has three normal curves: cervical, thoracic and lumbar. There are seven cervical vertebrae in the neck, 12 thoracic vertebrae in the torso and five lumbar vertebrae in the lower back.

Where is your Tspine?

Your thoracic spine is located in the center of your upper and middle back. It begins at the base of your neck (cervical spine) and ends around the bottom of your rib cage, just above your lower back (lumbar spine).

What are the 5 different sections of the spine?

Sections. The spine is composed of 33 bones, called vertebrae, divided into five sections: the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine sections, and the sacrum and coccyx bones. The cervical section of the spine is made up of the top seven vertebrae in the spine, C1 to C7, and is connected to the base of the skull.

Where is T1 and T2 on the spine?

The thoracic vertebrae T1 is located in the upper part of the back. It’s the first section of the thoracic vertebrae, so it is located between the seventh cervical vertebra (C7) and T2.

What part of your spine controls your legs?

Sacral region The lowest part of the spinal cord contains 5 pairs of nerves. These control the thighs, lower legs, and the genital and anal areas. Sacral nerve injury can happen anywhere from the upper lumbar spine down to the sacrum.

What does T8 and T9 control?

The T4-T8 vertebrae make up the rest thoracic vertebrae before the thoracic vertebrae T9 – T12. With the exception of T4, which affects both the chest and abdomen, these vertebrae primarily control abdominal muscles. The T4 and T5 vertebrae are the most commonly injured thoracic vertebrae.

What nerves are affected by T1 and T2?

Supply Areas. Thoracic spinal nerves serve the region thus: T1 and T2 (top two thoracic nerves) feed into nerves that go into the top of the chest as well as into the arm and hand. T1 is also part of the Brachial Plexus.

What is the weakest part of the spine?

The weakest part of the spine is the cervical spine, which is made up of seven vertebrae.

Does the bone grow back after a laminectomy?

A laminectomy removes the entire lamina. Removal of the lamina allows more room for the nerves of the spine and reduces the irritation and inflammation of the spinal nerves. The lamina does not grow back. Instead, scar tissue grows over the bone, replacing the lamina, and protects the spinal nerves.

What nerves affect T2?

The nerves in the area of a vertebra control specific parts of the body. For example, the 7th cervical nerve (C7) in the neck area controls the triceps (the muscle in the upper arm), while the thoracic nerves (T2 through T7) control the chest muscles.

What spinal nerves affect the thighs?

The lumbar and sacral plexuses both contribute fibers towards the three major nerves that serve to innervate the thigh. The lumbar plexus is formed by the anterior rami of nerve roots L1 through L4 while also receiving contributions from T12.

What does T9 and T10 control?

For instance, T9 contains nerves that connect to the kidney area while T12 has nerves that affect the buttocks and lower abdomen muscles. Although the thoracic vertebrae are connected to ribs, only T9 and T10 have “true” ribs, or ribs that are fused into the chest’s sternum.

What does the T9 nerve control?

So T9 is the ninth thoracic nerve, part of the group of nerves which connect the brain to the torso and some parts of the arms. Above T9 are T1 through T8, which control the upper torso. Injuries to that area are likely to limit trunk movement and abdominal control.